Off to Meditate….

Ok, so in my quest for enlightenment, peace and a happier existence, I have decided to do something extreme. Well, its not so extreme, but for me this will be a doozy. I have decided to learn Vipassana Meditation. This is not the extreme part, the extreme part is that I am going to a ten day retreat to do so.

This morning I will be traveling with a bus load of Burmese meditators to North Fork, CA, near Fresno, to a retreat in the foothills of the Sierras. Here I will learn, along with about 60-100 other students the ways of Vipassana. Each day we will meditate for ten hours, not consecutively, and each day we will be given the next step in the meditation.

They say 10 days is the minimum to learn the meditation and reap some benefits.

This is not without sacrifice. For these ten days, I am required to observe Noble Silence. Yes, no talking for ten full days.

This scares the shit out of me.

I also can not write, read, distract others, touch others, touch myself, lie or kill anything. We will be eating only vegetarian meals and wake at 4 am.

I am excited and anxious about this. While I think I will gain a lot out of this, I think i have bitten off a little more than I can chew, as I don’t meditate at all on a regular basis, so I am going to try desperately not to freak the fuck out.

I could easily cheat and bring my ipod to listen to music and watch video, but I am not going to do that. The only cheating I am going to do is bring a journal. It is my nature to write and although the schedule is rigid and I probably won’t have time to do it, I am going to try to write a day by day account of my experience there.

I am nervous. I am thrilled. I am hoping to find some more peace and happiness.

I think this is the perfect time for me to do this. So I will be away until September 14. When I return I will share my experience with you all….

Pray for me and talk a lot for me….

…oh geez, I might implode.

To learn more about what I am doing go to Vipassana Meditation.

September 3, 2008. Life, Me Me Me!, Spirituality/Meditation.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

