Summer Reading List!

One of my favorite things to do in life is READ! I love how books can just transport you away into another world. That is what I attempt to do when I write, give an experience worthy of forgetting your own life for an hour or two.

For me, summer doesn’t really change anything, as I am not in school anymore. But I still read a lot more in the summer months than any part of the year….Well I get a lot of reading time in in winter as well, I love reading next to the window when its pouring out.

So here is a list of some of my favorite books that I would recommend to anyone and everyone who loves to read. If it has an * next to it, that means I especially love it. The more *** the book has, the more amazing and transportive it is. I especially love book that have to do with time: series of books, time travel book, period pieces, etc.

Jaime’s Summer Reading List:

All Harry Potter books by JK Rowling***
The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger*********************
The Golden Compass***, The Subtle Knife and the Amber Spyglass by Phillip Pullman
The Spell** and the Swimming Pool Diaries by Alan Hollinghurst
The Color Purple by Alice Walker******
All Tales of the City books by Armistead Maupin*************
Go Ask Alice by Anonymous
Siddhartha By Hermanne Hesse**
Dry** and Running with Scissors* and Magical Thinking**** and Possible Side Effects and Wolf at the Table** by Augusten Burrows! (this guys is amazing!)
Dressing Your Family in Corduroy and Denim** and Naked and Me Speak Pretty One Day* by David Sedaris
A Density of Souls*** and Light Before Day by Christopher Rice
State of Fear and Prey** by Michael Crichton
Spirit Song and Rise of the Pheonix by Mary Summer Rain
Rule of the Bone by Russel Banks
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton
A Home at the End of the World******* and Flesh and Bone by Michael Cunningham
The Celestine Prophecy by James Redfield***
Wicked by Gregory Maguire***
She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb***

Ok, I think that is enough for now. All of these books are just completely fantastic. Some have or are going to have movies real soon, and while some of them are OK, the book is always the more superior piece of work. This is the case especially with The Golden Compass. If you have seen the movie, forget everything you saw and read the book: AMAZING! And I think all of the Harry Potter movies are OK but just skeletons of the book.

My hope is that you’ll find at least one or two books on this list appealing and you will read them and be taken away by its beauty and resonance.

ENJOY!

July 9, 2008. Entertainment, fun, Life, Thoughts.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

