SF Gay Pride Parade 2008

No matter how drunk or hung over I am from the Pink Party the night before, I always seem to manage to get my ass up out of bed to get to the Parade. I love it. It makes me cry every year, though no one would ever know that because none of my friends ever make it and I haven’t had a boyfriend to go with me for what seems like forever.

This year, of course, was all about gay marriage. Thats kinda where I lost it. There was Gavin Newsom driving by in a nice old car, then behind him were hundreds of couples who have already or plan to get married.

It must feel so beautiful and wonderful to walk in this huge parade, proud of who you are and with the man you love so much. I want to do that. Profess my love for myself, for my partner and for my community for everyone to see and hear. While I was watching this year, all I could think is how good that must feel and I replaced myself with certain people in the parade and I got a glimpse of how amazing it must be.

I wish I felt that love. To be on a float dancing with freedom or embracing a lover and waving to the crowd. Thats better than partying in a crowd or drinking to oblivion…

The parade is not like three hours long, I didn’t stay for the entire thing. But here are some great pictures and videos I took while I was there.








June 30, 2008. Entertainment, fun, Gay Gay Gay, Life.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

