34 year old Thomas Beatie from Oregon says he is five months pregnant with an estimated due date on July 3rd, 2008

thomas_beatie.jpg

Beatie, who is legally a man but used to be a woman, chose to keep his reproductive female organs when he went through reconstructive surgery.

Beatie tells Advocate magazine:

“Ten years ago, when Nancy and I became a couple, the idea of us having a child was more dream than plan. I always wanted to have children. However, due to severe endometriosis 20 years ago, Nancy had to undergo a hysterectomy and is unable to carry a child. But after the success of our custom screen-printing business and a move from Hawaii to the Pacific Northwest two years ago, the timing finally seemed right. I stopped taking my bimonthly testosterone injections. It had been roughly eight years since I had my last menstrual cycle, so this wasn’t a decision that I took lightly. My body regulated itself after about four months, and I didn’t have to take any exogenous estrogen, progesterone, or fertility drugs to aid my pregnancy.

“Our situation sparks legal, political, and social unknowns. We have only begun experiencing opposition from people who are upset by our situation. Doctors have discriminated against us, turning us away due to their religious beliefs. Health care professionals have refused to call me by a male pronoun or recognize Nancy as my wife. Receptionists have laughed at us. Friends and family have been unsupportive; most of Nancy’s family doesn’t even know I’m transgender.

“This whole process, from trying to get pregnant to being pregnant, has been a challenge for us. The first doctor we approached was a reproductive endocrinologist. He was shocked by our situation and told me to shave my facial hair. After a $300 consultation, he reluctantly performed my initial checkups. He then required us to see the clinic’s psychologist to see if we were fit to bring a child into this world and consulted with the ethics board of his hospital. A few months and a couple thousand dollars later, he told us that he would no longer treat us, saying he and his staff felt uncomfortable working with “someone like me.”

“How does it feel to be a pregnant man? Incredible. Despite the fact that my belly is growing with a new life inside me, I am stable and confident being the man that I am. In a technical sense I see myself as my own surrogate, though my gender identity as male is constant. To Nancy, I am her husband carrying our child — I am so lucky to have such a loving, supportive wife. I will be my daughter’s father, and Nancy will be her mother. We will be a family.”

April 1, 2008. News, scariness.

4 Comments

  1. Kristy replied:

    This is all wonderful but can you REALLY say you are a “man” when you still have female organs?

  2. JOYJ replied:

    WHAT IN THE HELL?!?!IM SPEECHLESS…AND CONFUSED. I THOUGHT THE WHOLE IDEA OF TRANSGENDER WAS TO COMPLETELY TRANSFORM FROM A MAN TO A WOMAN OR WOMAN TO A MAN. NOW ALL THAT IS OUT THE WINDOW… POOR KID.

  3. Gabrielle replied:

    Congratulations to the pair of you. Since your wife could not give you a child due to endometriosis now you are able to do it for the both of you. No matter what others say and who is own your side… it can be you and your wife against the world. Much luck to your future.

  4. plum replied:

    this is an abomanation of god this is so confussing to the child when it grows up. whats ur mom & dad names, well i dont have a real dad cause my dad is my mom and my mom is my mom so i have two moms and a pretend daddy who has balls but also ahas a womans reproductive organs. this will truly be a freak of nature and hard for the kid to explain what is going on not only that the kid will find this on the net when it grows up now how will they deal with that issue?

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

