the great vegan experiment

May 17, 2007

A popular fad has swept over my workplace and group of friends. Apparently the cool thing to do and be is now becoming vegan. Vegans, if you are not aware, do not eat any kind of meat, dairy or eggs. My coworker Jessie brought this craze to Pasta P. She is a bona fide, committed vegan and, like any cult leaders, is dragging everyone down with her. Almost everyone I work with has become some kind of vegan or vegetarian, each at their own personal degree of commitment and length of time.

Soo… Being the huge follower that I am, I thought I would give it a try. But if I’m going to do it, I’m going to do it right. Beginning today I will not eat any meat or dairy or eggs…oh my. I think the lack of meat will be ok, but dairy? I love cheese. That will be my biggest challenge. Yesterday I made sure I got my fill of some meat, complete with a bacon cheeseburger for lunch, lamb chops and asparagus for dinner and some ben & jerrys for dessert. (Ok, that was kind of extreme, but it was gooood.)

We’ll see what happens. I anticipate on being very hungry, in a good way and probably a little cranky by day four. And its supposed to really clean you out without fasting. I eat a lot of cheese and meat, so I can’t wait to see what happens. Check back here to see what happens.

May 17, 2007. Me Me Me!.

One Comment

  1. kyd replied:

    daaaaaaaaa!! how long will u be on this vegan thing? rainbow in soma has some good stuff that are vegan that doesn’t taste vegan. ps. ur turning into a lessie.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

