principles to live by

Again, I’m not sure why the death of Doug Blasdell has affected me so much, seeing as I never met him or knew him personally besides watching him on Bravo’s WorkOut. (I’ve written about him before; you can see that entry below.)

I guess I just find it so incredibly tragic that someone so good and kind and compassionate and accepting should be taken away. Someone that affected so many people, even those who never came close to meeting him, doesn’t deserve to die so young. Doug was only 44 when he passed.

Brian Peeler, Doug’s colleague and good friend, recited Doug’s life principles at a bon fire vigil the WorkOut trainers had on the beach. The list speaks volumes of the person he was and I think we would all be lucky to be half the man he was.

    Doug Blasdell’s Principles to Live By

Just for today, do not worry.

Just for today, do not anger.

Honor your parents, teachers and elders.

Earn your living honestly.

Show gratitude to all living things.

doug1.jpg

“In this life, I loved you most of all.
What for?
‘Cause now you’re gone and I have to ask myself
What for?

People pass by and I wonder who’s next.
Who determines who knows best?

Is there a lesson I’m supposed to learn in this case?
Ignorance is not bliss”

–Madonna, In This Life

May 10, 2007. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. catherine replied:

    I like the Madonna quote. Welcome to blogging, doll!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

